2012 Pun-Off (Official Results)

Austin, Texas. May 19, 2012: He may hail from Queens, New York, but Jerzy Gwiazdowski will rain for the next year as new Punniest of Show World Champion. Although he was a total newbie to our contest, Jerzy did arrive with some experience at competitive punning, having recently claimed a 2nd place honors in a PUNderdome competition in Brooklyn, New York.

For his 90-second PUNtastic presentation, Gwiazdowski scored a rare 40 out of a possible 40 points from our six-judge panel for 1st place. That left our 2011 Punniest of Show champ, Gracie “I Barely Know Her” Deegan of Austin, Texas with 2nd place and Benjamin Ziek of Glendale, California, (2011, 2010 PunSlingers champion) to receive a not-so-shabby 3rd place medal to show he’s still hardware it counts.

2012 Punniest of Show Winners

Jerzy Gwiazdowski , Gracie Deegan, Benjamin Ziek. Photo: Clay Leben

In the pun quick-draw shootout PunSlingers contest, 1st place was handily won by shooting star, Dav Wallace (2010 2nd place winner)  of Round Rock, Texas. Our two-year defending champ, Benjamin “Game Show Freak” Ziek, was punched out in the final round for 2nd place. The multi-medaled Andy Balinsky of Austin, Texas tied for 3rd place with another Austinite, 2009 PunSlingers and 2011 mmMVP winner Matt Pollock.

The 2012 mmMVP trophy was awarded by a vote of his fellow Pun-Off contestants to the newly crowned Punniest of Show champ Jerzy Gwiazdowski for his clever puns and significant skills in winning smiles.

URL welcome. Coordinator Gary “PunMeister” Hallock

Punslingers Winners 2012

Dav Wallace, Benjamin Ziek, Andy Balinsky, Matt Pollack. Photo: Clay Leben

One response to “2012 Pun-Off (Official Results)