Results 2017

It was an O. Henry Museum Pun-Off World Championship that was worthy of being its 40th Anniversary. In Punniest of Show, there was a tie for 1st place between Southpaw Jones and Toby Miceli-Gwiazdowski each scoring 40-points that the audience settled quickly with its applause giving Southpaw Jones 1st Place and Toby Miceli-Gwiazdowski 2nd Place.

Then Producer Emeritus Gary Hallock surprised everyone by offering the third-place to Jerzy Gwiazdowski, who also scored 40-points but went over the official 2-minute limit by only several words. Jerzy stepped forward and graciously ducked any controversy by declining to accept the ribbon saying the “Rules are the rules. I went over the time limit.”  That left it up to the audience to settle a 6-person tie for third place who all had scored 38 points: Sean Carey, Arun Debray, Ben Ziek, Robert Ramon, Annica Eagle, and Haley Haradan. After an orderly series of applause show downs, the popular choice 3rd Place winner was Spokane, Washington health advocate Annica Eagle.

Punniest of Show contestant scores

2017 Punniest Contestant Scores

Punslingers Shoot Out 2017

This time the 2015 2nd place winner Jerzy Gwiazdowski triumphed to become 2017 1st Place PunSlinger out witting Dave Wallace who took home 2nd Place. The 3rd Place winners were Matt Pollock and Randell Kirsch.

2017 PunSlingers Brackets